Celebrating 3 Years

I wasn’t sure whether or not I was going to write this post.  Last Wednesday (June 26th) was mine and Jordan’s 3rd wedding anniversary.  I wanted to document a little timeline of our 3 years of marriage and the events that they have held, but last week was a difficult and sad week for my side of the family.  It almost felt irreverent to celebrate in the midst of mourning.

But I realized that both are a part of life.  We celebrate and we mourn.  And sometimes, as unfair as it may seem, the two happen simultaneously.

And both will be a part of marriage.  “For better or for worse.”  Or maybe it’s “for better and for worse” which seems more accurate.   Surely every marriage will contain both.

So today I decided that I will write a belated post to celebrate our 3 years of marriage.

3 years feels both really short, yet so full.  A lot has happened in our 3 years together!  Here is a (much abbreviated) timeline of our 3 years of marriage:

On June 26, 2010, Jordan and I vowed to love and serve each other for the rest of our lives.

35190_610765494073_2749190_n

About a month into marriage, we had an apartment fire (in our own apartment) that left us living in hotels and with friends for over a month.  It was the busiest time of year for us to be newly married and displaced.  Both of us were employed by InterVarsity as full time Campus Ministers at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Jordan with the undergrad chapter, and me with the Greek (sorority and fraternity) chapter. We were gone (separately) many nights of the week for various events where we were welcoming new students to the campus and getting them plugged in with our groups.  It was a hard time for us to fight for time together, but it was also sweet in strange ways.  I think the fact that we were the only two people who really understood what the other was going through created a strong bond between us.

A couple of months later (after a lot of processing with the Lord and with each other), we decided that I would leave my job in full time ministry.  I would finish out the school year, but would be completely done in June.

I will pause to say that we spent a lot of our first year being cheesy and in love (sweet honeymoon phase).  But we also went through a.ton.of.transition.  Jordan had just moved to a new city, started a new job role, a new marriage, had the whole fire drama, had some of his staff team leave, we decided that I would quit my job, and then… well, more transitions happened that are listed a bit further below.

That fall, since we had so much going on, we went on our first married getaway (other than our honeymoon), where we stayed at a beautiful little B&B in Asheville.

photo (6)

Our first married Christmas was so much fun! We really enjoyed buying our first tree and decorating our first home together. 

photo (7)

Then that winter turned out to be a bit tough for us.  Jordan started wrestling with some hard stuff, and I was having trouble finding a job and figuring out what to do next career-wise.

I didn’t know what God had up His sleeve.

On March, 2011, we found out that we were pregnant!

249553_694724210133_4277027_n

Career decision solved!  We had always wanted for me to be a stay-at-home mom once we started having children (which was actually my lifelong dream, and what I would have majored in, had that been a choice in college.  Strangely, Elon didn’t offer it as one… ;-)).

At the end of the school year, we decided to move to Durham for more space and better cost of living.

We spent our first Anniversary at another beautiful B&B in Blowing Rock, NC while we were there for the wedding of some dear friends.

265153_705114802303_4953271_n

And found it funny that we were pregnant on our first Anniversary.

photo

In the beginning of the summer, we found out that we were having a girl!

We I spent the rest of the summer hot and uncomfortable and froze Jordan out of our apartment.

On November 8, 2011, we welcomed our daughter, Riley Grace Maroon, into the world 🙂

delivery

Then we lived the “Parents of infants” life for awhile.  Which translates to: “not much of a life outside of diapers, feedings, spit up, sleep deprivation; and a whole lotta lovey dovey googly eyes at this amazing little being, that you are so obsessed with that you take 29380282 pictures.  Per hour.”  I mean we did a few other things during that time, but mostly just that :).

June, 2012, we moved back to Chapel Hill.  Our new place was (and is) less than 10 minutes from campus, close to our church, across the street from some friends, and walking distance to several grocery stores and restaurants.  Score!  We love it.

We spent our 2nd anniversary in Nashville with 7 month old Riley and some close friends.

376951_871310300193_714752964_n

Then that next year included so many milestones for Riley (1st words, crawling, walking, turning 1, weaning, etc), our sibling’s weddings (my sister and Jordan’s brother both got married!  Not to each other though.  To other awesome people 🙂 ), a lot of travel (visiting family and accompanying Jordan at several of his staff conferences and meetings), and even a couple of getaways just the 2 of us!

We spent our 3rd anniversary more low key (which was exactly how I wanted to spend it last week).  First, Jordan cooked the most delicious dinner (honey crusted salmon with a garlic, butter, and brown sugar or something sauce on top and roasted vegetables).  As much as I normally love to cook, I realized that there is something I love even more than cooking: my husband cooking!  So, we’re going to have to make that happen more often.  He doesn’t know what he just dug himself into… ;-).

After dinner, we drove over to Nantucket Grill and got a (HUGE) slice of their savory cake to-go, and came home and ate it with a glass of wine.

It rained the whole evening, which also felt perfect.

Once we finished the cake, we went to the Chelsea Theater, a little independent movie theater that I have always wanted to go to but never had.  We saw the movie “Much Ado about Nothing,” based on Shakespeare’s classic, and it was SO GOOD.  So good.  And a fun experience too.

third anniversary 3third anniversary

My parents were awesome as always and watched Riley for us overnight, so we were also able to sleep in and drink coffee together the next morning.  Such a gift.

I would say this past year has been the best.  Though not un-marred by pain, it has included Riley’s best and most fun ages, more confidence in this parenting thing, deeper community and friendships in the area, sweet time in our marriage, and enjoying the area we live in.

photo

photo (4)

 

So happy Anniversary, Jordan!  It has been an incredible (and eventful) 3 years.  At the end of the day, there is no one who I would rather say “good night” to (even if it hasn’t been a good night), and no one whose hand I would rather hold through the good, bad, beautiful, and ugly.

Lucky I’m in love with my best friend…


KM.

