I Shall Not Be Greatly Shaken

“For God alone my soul waits in silence;
from him comes my salvation.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.”
-Psalm 62:1-2

My soul waits for God alone. It waits expectantly and eagerly for answered prayer. It waits in belief. It waits on His promises. It waits for Him to make Himself known. For Him to speak. For Him to rescue. For Him to light my path. For Him to reveal. For Him to return.

From him comes my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation. Not what other people think of me. Not the way I look. Not my performance and abilities. Not the momentary pleasures and comforts this world offers. Not my family. Not my friends. Not even my religion or spirituality or ministry doings. From Him alone. He only.

My fortress. I am hidden in Him. He is my shelter and my protection. From the harsh winds and storms of the enemy out for my blood, He covers and protects me. From myself and the deceit I naturally walk into and destruction I cause. He shelters me. From threats to my worth and identity. He shields me. I’ve always suspected this wasn’t home. He only is my home. My castle (He is a King after all).

I shall not be greatly shaken.

Not by people disagreeing with or disapproving of me. Not by my own mistakes. Not by failure. Not by my husband disappointing me. Not by me disappointing him. Not by people letting me down. Not by me letting them down. Not by poor health. Not by gaining weight, aging, or fading beauty. Not by financial stress. Not by stress in general. Not by loss of sleep. Not by loss of anything. Not by being stripped from any earthly comfort I feel entitled to. Not by rejection. Not by betrayal. Not by skeletons in my past.

I shall not be greatly shaken.

Hope has never shone so brightly <3.

KM.

20130911-201132.jpg

Leave a Reply

