Foodie Friday: Mediterranean Couscous Salad

A friend of mine has started doing “Foodie Friday” on her blog where she shares a recipe she made that week that she and her husband enjoyed. I have loved the idea (and have been making her recipes!) so I thought that it would be a fun addition to “Throwback Thursdays” as a weekly blog post :).

I love food. Every time I eat something savory and delicious, I feel as though I have escaped, even if for only 10 minutes, to some mini vacation full of relaxation and pleasure. That is a bit dramatic but the sad part is that I am actually serious. I am just passionate in believing that eating is one of the most enjoyable sensory experiences that our Creator came up with! Ok ok, I am done with that spiel.

I also love to cook. I’m not a fancy make your own breadcrumbs and dipping sauce from exotic herbs and homemade spice combinations cook. I’m a pretty simple cook. But I love the aroma that fills the kitchen when something delicious is simmering on the stove and I find the monotonous task of chopping vegetables therapeutic and relaxing, especially if Nora Jones is serenading me from the iPad and there is a glass of red wine in my hand!

All of that to say, I like the idea of “Foodie Friday” so I’m going to borrow it from my friend and use this space to share with you (or myself looking back to my blog for favorite recipe ideas) to share a favorite from the past week.

This week’s winner is Mediterranean Couscous Salad. I found the recipe from a Pinterest search and tampered with it a bit to fit the ingredients I had on hand and what my taste buds are drawn to. I made it as a side for a fish dinner (Tilapia, which I just brushed with melted butter and seasoned with some delicious fish seasoning that I think I had bought at Harris Teeter. I wish I remembered what kind it was specifically because it was SO good! But I accidentally threw the container away when it was empty. Ooops).

ingredients:
-olive oil (2 tbsp-ish)
-butter (1 tbsp-ish)
-red wine vinegar (also 2 tbsp-ish)
-couscous (obviously. I used a box of garlic/herb couscous)
-white mushrooms (about a 1/2 a cup. You could also use portabella)
-Feta cheese (a whole small container, if you’re me. You’re welcome to use less)
-pitted sliced black olives (I probably used half a can)
-1/2 medium onion
-cilantro (to taste)
-Garlic (1 or 2 cloves, depending on how much garlic taste you like. I’m a 2 cloves gal. My husband is part Lebanese after all)
-grape tomatoes (about a handfull), sliced
-salt & pepper (to taste)

directions:
-start cooking couscous according to package directions. Add a little bit of the olive oil (probably 1 tablespoon-ish)
-while the couscous is cooking, lightly brown the mushrooms, onion and garlic in a skillet with butter
-once the couscous is done cooking, add to it the remaining olive oil and the red wine vinegar in a serving bowl
-add the mushroom, onion, and garlic mixture to the couscous along with the olives, tomatoes, feta cheese, salt & pepper.
-top with cilantro (as much or little as you like. I had just sprinkled a little bit on top, but I love the taste of cilantro and would probably add a little more next time then I did this past time.)

Serve warm or chilled, it’s good both ways! Enjoy! 🙂

KM.

20130911-201620.jpg

Leave a Reply

