Throwback Thursday: Scarlett

Today I was inspired by the Instagram trend of “Throwback Thursday” (#tbt) and thought that I would write a post about a past event in my life that was significant. I’m thinking of turning this into a weekly thing :).

So today I am going to tell you about the birth of Scarlett Rose Bridges, my niece and the first grandchild to be born in the Bridges family (Bridges is my maiden name, for those of you who have only known me as a Maroon).

When Jordan and I got married on June 26, 2010 my sister-in-law, Sarah, was SUPER pregnant! We all joked that she was going to go into labor at our wedding. She didn’t (which is probably a good thing), and throughout our honeymoon in Mexico I would think, “I wonder if they’ve had our niece yet!”

As soon as our plane landed back in the states after our honeymoon, I checked my voicemail and called my parents to see if there was any big news. There wasn’t yet.

We didn’t know her name at that point. All we knew was that she was a girl, and I knew I loved her already. This would be my first time being “Auntie Krystal” and I could not wait to play that role!

Scarlett was born on July 15, 2010 at 12:59pm. I will never forget that day! I remember getting the text message from my brother and a call from my dad saying that they were all on their way to the hospital. I got there as fast as I could, only to wait for hours nervously in the waiting room with my family. Then we got a text message with a picture of a beautiful pink little baby that said, “Scarlett Rose Bridges.” I couldn’t imagine a more perfect name for her!

20130207-111437.jpg

The moment I held her in my arms for the first time, I fell deeply in love.

Over the next several months of her life, I would find any excuse to be with her. As a matter of fact there may have been an instance (or two) where Robbie and Sarah needed a last minute baby sitter for Scarlett and I may or may not have taken the day off of work to watch her for them (shhhh). I especially remember watching her one day when she was 5 months old and thinking that it was one of the best days of my life.

I had picked her up, put her carseat in my car, and had never driven so slowly in my life! I understood for the first time why people put those “Baby on Board” bumper stickers on their cars because I kept thinking to myself, “I hope that car behind me sees that I have a baby in the back seat!!!!”

All day long, all I did was hold her. And sing to her. And nap (for 3 hours!) with with her. And stare into her striking blue eyes.

20130207-112350.jpg

It was hard for me to drop her back off with Robbie and Sarah, and I started getting a fierce case of baby fever.

When Scarlett was 8 months old, I found out I was pregnant. Perhaps that baby fever had more power than I realized? 🙂

Now Scarlett is 2 and a half years old and full of life and personality! She loves wearing her princess pj’s and running around outside. She now has a baby sister, Aria (another sweet love of my life) and has to fight a little harder for all of the attention that once belonged only to her. She calls me “Cecil” (her best pronunciation of Krystal) and she calls Riley “Liley.” And boy does she love her little cousin Liley! It is hilarious when the two of them get together. Scarlett is an extroverted people-person with no comprehension of personal space. She loves tight hugs and loud giggles. “Liley” on the other hand is a quieter introvert who likes her personal space and enjoys playing alone. She is not so into this cousin closeness yet, but Scarlett doesn’t seem to get the hint. She wraps her little arms around Riley and doesn’t seem to notice that Riley tries to push them away. She snuggles up next to Riley with her little head full of blonde curls, even though Riley just gets up and goes somewhere else. She shrieks with delight when we try to put Riley in the bath with her or up on the couch with her, even though Riley is shrieking in protest.

20130207-113011.jpg

I’m excited to see how their cousin friendship grows over time, but I’m even more excited to see who Scarlett turns out to be. What will her dreams and aspirations be? What will she enjoy doing and be gifted in? What will she want to be when she “grows up?” What parts of God’s character will she reflect most? What kind of hobbies will she have and what types of things will she be involved in?

I feel so blessed to play such a special and important role in her life, and hope to be a huge blessing and encouragement to her as well.

I love you Scarlett Rose, you will always hold a special place in my life and my heart. I cannot wait to get to know you even better!

KM.

Leave a Reply

