A Day in the Life…

Recently I’ve been thinking about how my day-to-day has changed over the past year as Riley has grown.  I am loving this little tiny toddler age that she is at right now.  These are sweet days.  I wish I could just bottle them up!  Since I can’t put them in a bottle to take out later, I figured I would put them in a blog :).  So this post is for myself more than anyone, so that I can look back and remember what this time in my life was like.  I hope that Riley will one day be interested in looking back at this post with me and learning about our time together during her little years.  So without further ado, here is a day in the life of Krystal (and Riley):

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Rise and shine!  I’ve got an early riser on my hands.  I think it’s God’s humor, really.  I have never been a morning person.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Every morning I try giving her a bottle in her crib, hoping desperately that she will fall back asleep.  It’s only happened like twice.  It didn’t happen today.  She was very excited to wake up!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

So she comes out and immediately has to check out the Christmas tree while I go start my coffee :).

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I let her watch an episode of Baby Einstein

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

While I wake up with coffee and some reading up on current events (and people’s lives on Facebook.  Because you know people are posting important details of their lives at 5:30am.)

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

6:00 is time for breakfast!  Pancakes and fruit for Riley this morning.  Peanut Butter Cheerios for mom (everyday).

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then it’s play time!  The Tupperware cabinet is usually one of Riley’s first choices.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Where’s Riley???  Oh, there she is!  Cracking.her.self up.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

If i’m lucky, I get a few morning snuggles.  This morning she was especially affectionate.   She kept climbing up into my lap.  Melt.my.heart.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then it’s story time!  Riley has been preferring to do the reading outloud herself lately.  It sounds something like this, “Ess  essa. Assa. Ada as as essa adda ad.”

Not pictured: 8am naptime.  For baby and mommy.  Baby sleeps. Mommy tries, but doesn’t :(.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

But I AM able to get dressed AND put on makeup!  Score for the home team!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

And then drink my 2nd 3rd 2nd 3rd…ish…(Oh who’s counting anyway!) cup of coffee with the monitor in my last few moments before she wakes up.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Moments later, I hear her talking on the monitor, and there she is all bright eyed and bushy tailed ;-).

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Time to get dressed.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Someone is all ready to go out on the town!  (I know, I know… the boots!  She picked them out herself.  At the store.  Then Grammy went back and bought them for her later 😉 )

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Time for a quick(ish) (not sure anything is quick with a toddler.  Except for the stuff that you want to last.  Like snuggles and sweet moments.) snack around 10:30am.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then it’s out to run errands!  Riley LOVES riding in shopping carts.   It makes the whole thing so much more enjoyable/bearable. Although she kept throwing groceries out of the cart today.  Oh well, it’s exercise for mommy. Which mommy needs in her life.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Home around 12:30, in time for Riley to eat lunch while I unpack the groceries!

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then a little after 1pm, these awesome UNC ladies came over for a Holiday Hangout!  One of the best parts of being married to a Campus Minister is building relationships with some of the students, and being able to lead/disciple/invest in some of their lives.  I love these girls and have had a blast getting together with them this fall to talk about life and Jesus.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then when everyone left around 4, baby was still taking her afternoon nap (she napped from 2:30-5:30 this afternoon!  I guess maybe she felt bad about 5:15am after all 😉 ), so I took the opportunity to do some personal reading.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

And Advent devotional/scripture study

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

When Riley woke up at 5:30, daddy was home from work so we had some family snuggle time in the “Big People Bed.”

GE DIGITAL CAMERAGE DIGITAL CAMERA

Soon followed by dinner

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

And then some more play time! As you see, Riley hunted for some treasure in the recycling bin…

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Then while Riley had some snuggle time with daddy, I took advantage of the opportunity to go take a shower

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

And our victory lap after Riley went to bed?  Watching “The Voice”! (which, by the way, I’m still mad that Amanda Brown went home last week.  She was so obviously the most talented.  What the what, America?)

So there you have it!  A day in the life, all bottled up :).

KM.

Leave a Reply

