Spinning, Loosing Weight, and Making New Friends

Hello blogosphere, it’s been a few weeks! So much for my goal of writing at least once a week. In my defense, it hasn’t exactly been easy to write, given all the spinning the world has been doing.

You may remember a post I wrote about giving grace to myself a little while ago, where I talked about feeling dizzy and nauseous all the time? Well come to find out I had vertigo. So for the past…month and a half(?) every room I entered was spinning and I was dizzy and nauseous 24/7. I told Jordan that vertigo had robbed me of my hobbies since reading, writing, exercising (well, calling that a “hobby” may be a stretch), cooking, and drinking wine were all virtually impossible much less enjoyable. I’m not writing a sob story, many many people have way worse things going on. And it’s great that it was vertigo, not something more serious! I was very relieved. It just made my everyday life a bit more challenging. It definitely gave me a new found respect and admiration for people whose everyday reality is living with illness, pain, or discomfort in any way. Anyway, it’s gotten much better (I only have a couple of “spells” of vertigo each day rather than experiencing it from the moment I wake up until I go to sleep) so I am loving life right now!

Since that has gotten better, I’ve decided it is time to take on a new weight loss plan (thankfully, it does not include entirely eliminating sugar from my diet). Last week I joined Weight Watchers, thanks to the encouragement of a friend who is also doing it right now. So far, I love it! I don’t feel deprived, I don’t feel hungry, I’m making good food choices, and I see an end to the baby weight! According to my new WW plan, I should be back to my post baby weight by December, which is a very doable and healthy goal at this point. So I’m feeling really motivated! It’s also nice that I have a couple of friends doing it so we can encourage each other and I can ask them for advice and recipes :). I highly recommend it.

Last but certainly not least, I’ve made a couple of new friends in surprising ways lately. Earlier this summer, I met a new friend through my blog. Her sister-in-law suggested she read one of my blog posts, she started following my blog, and eventually sent me a facebook message. I realized that she also had a blog, started following it, and thought that we must be soul sisters (for lack of a less cheesy term). We only live 30 minutes away from each other and decided to meet up one day. Now I would consider her one of my very closest friends. We have shared the depths of our hearts, text each other on hard days, and get together sometimes as much as twice a week! Our babies are “friends” (as much as 10-11 month old’s can be) and we’ve even started hanging out together with our husbands. How crazy is that?!

Another surprising way that I have recently met a new friend is through a mug swap. It’ ‘s a new “thing” circulating the blog world and basically what that means is that you get paired with another person, are assigned to read their blog and follow them on any social media they have an account on (FB, twitter, instagram), find a coffee mug that “fits” them, send it their way and they do the same for you. I was intrigued by the idea and decided I’d give it a shot! I’m so glad I did, because I made a new friend :). My “mug partner” is another soul sister, we are so similar. It’s a really cool thing to find out that there is someone you never knew existed that you connect with so easily. And her name is Jordan so, how perfect is that? My husband Jordan is always thrown off when I talk about her (since they have the same name, in case you didn’t catch that…) so he insists I call her something else, preferably “Larry” (from the most recent episode of Modern Family. If you watch it, you think this is funny. If you don’t, you think I’m just weird). Anyway Larry Jordan is awesome, and I’ve enjoyed “getting to know” her (sidenote: if I used as many air quotes when talking as I have in this blog post, you might confuse me with “Joey” on “Friends”). Sometimes social media can be seen as a hindrance to real friendships and I get that, but it has been cool to see how social media has actually brought some real friendships into my life over this past year.

Well, that’s a little bit of what has been going on in my life recently! Until next week…

KM.

20130911-210334.jpg

One Comment Add yours

  1. kjpugs says:

    I have made SO many friends through social media, it’s really helped me with living in places where I don’t know anyone. It’s also a great way to find people who connect with you on a less surface level- it’s amazing how many people are going through the same things you are. I’m glad that you’re on here and still in my life!

Leave a Reply

