A Letter to my Daughter

My sweet Riley,

I have been your mom for 4 months now- the best 4 months of my life!  I cannot believe how much you’ve grown and how much my love for you has grown also.  4 months into your life, I am entirely captivated, enthralled, delighted and fascinated by you.  Just today your daddy and I went into your room while you were napping and just stared at you as you slept so peacefully.  Your daddy reached his big, warm arms around me, pulled me into a hug and whispered into my ear, “She is just SO adorable!”  We are head over heels in love with you baby girl.

You are looking more and more like your daddy each day.  It’s really special because it is a constant reminder to me of my love for him and when you and I are away from him, I feel a piece of him is always with us in you.  Your developing personality is more like me though.  Like your mommy you are really laid back and content, shy around people you don’t know, a social introvert, a homebody, a snuggler, and a little bit stubborn ;-).

One of the most incredible things right now is that I know that you love me.  In the very beginning of your life, you weren’t able to show me love or even recognition because you were just a little teeny baby that couldn’t do much.  And I loved you entirely then.  But now, it is so obvious that you love me and it melts my heart!  Your eyes light up when I walk into a room, and a huge smile spreads across your face :).  You follow my voice and my movements wherever I go.  If someone else is holding you when you are crying, you often stop crying once I pick you up and you nestle your head into my neck or just look up into my eyes with your big beautiful ones.  Sometimes during your feedings you will stop, look up into my eyes as if you are looking into my soul and just lock that glance tightly for a few minutes, and then go back to eating.  Those are some of the sweetest moments. I wish I could freeze them, put them in a jar, and take them out whenever I want to for the rest of my life… You also crack up at me.  A couple of other people have heard you laugh, but sometimes when I tickle you, talk to you, or pretend to eat your leg you just laugh so much!  It makes me feel pretty funny ;-).  You don’t like when I leave a room and sometimes you just want me to hold you nonstop- which I am very happy to do!

It brings tears to my eyes sweet one, when I think about how quickly you are growing and how these moments will one day be only a memory.  But I am soaking each one up while thanking Jesus for the beautiful gift that you are to me!  You are my little sunshine, even on a bad day.  I love laughing with you, snuggling with you, playing with your toys, celebrating when you reach a new milestone like rolling over, and nursing you in the quiet of your room. I look forward to being right by your side as you continue to grow.  I’m excited to teach you new things and watch you learn new things on your own.  I look forward to seeing you crawl for the first time, say your first word, walk, run, and make friends.  But for now, I am so happy to be where we are.

You have brought so much joy into our lives, Riley Grace.  I love being your mommy.

love always,

Mommy

3 thoughts on “A Letter to my Daughter

  1. oh that is so sweet! I love what you wrote, dear daughter, and all is so true! you have grasped the meaning of motherhood; many mother’s don’t get this, and you have. God is glorified, that you adore His precious creation, and will take good care of her! She is in good hands with you and Jordan as her parents!

    • Krystal,what a beautiful letter…I miss so much of the wonderful things happening in the steps that Riley is going through, so keep up the pictures and beautiful letters that you write to her. I t is the only way I can keep in touch with your beautiful family.Love and miss you all, Grammy

  2. Krystal,
    I agree with your mom and grandmother. Riley is so blessed to have a mom who loves the Lord – loves Jordan, her dad – and loves her so dearly! I am so glad that you are taking the time to record your thoughts and feelings (which you articulate so well). What a treasure this will be to Riley one day. And as your mother-in-law, I praise God for a daughter-in-law like you!!
    Love,
    Anne (MOM2)

Leave a Reply

