Mouth Watering Meals

Last night Jordan told me that I’ve hit a lot of “home runs” with our dinners over these past few weeks.  Thanks to my friends Pinterest, skinnymom.com,  MK, and my sister- my man and myself have been well fed :).  Since I’ve often appreciated other bloggers posting their recipe successes and favorites, I thought I would do the same and hopefully offer you a week off of meal planning, filled with deliciousness!  Together Jordan and I picked our 7  favorites that I’ve made lately (to give you 1 week’s worth) and BONUS: most of it’s healthy!

Salsa Chicken   I served this over rice, and it was good! Jordan loved it.

Skinny BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches (Jordan’s favorite):  you get to use root beer in this one, how fun is that?!

Taco Pie: This is a recipe I just randomly made up one night with no idea how it would turn out.  It ended up tasting so good, I made it again a week later 🙂

Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 package of Grands biscuits
1 bag of shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 tomato, diced
1/2 onion, diced
Directions:
-Grease the bottom of a pie dish and spread out half of the biscuit dough on the bottom
-Brown beef and add taco seasoning
-mix diced tomato and onion in with the taco beef
-spread the meat on top of the biscuit dough
-spread shredded cheddar on top of the meat
-layer the remaining biscuit dough on top
-bake on 350 for 30 minutes

serve with salsa and sour cream if you wish!

*substitue with ground turkey, reduced fat grands biscuits, and reduced fat cheddar cheese and sour cream for a healthier version

Crock Pot Turkey Chili: This started out as a Weight Watchers Recipe, then I tweaked it and made it my own.  This is a great meal for a cold day or for when you have people over.  It’s been a big hit every time I’ve made it!

Ingredients:
1 lb. ground turkey
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 packet of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix (the dry mix)
1 can of stewed tomatoes
1 can of tomato sauce
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
1-2 cans of black beans (you can add any other beans you like too, and up to 4 cans, I’m just not a very big bean person)
1 9oz. bag of frozen white corn
1 tsp. cumin
1 diced chili pepper
Directions:
-brown the ground turkey and add just a little bit of the taco seasoning to help it absorb some more flavor
-add the turkey along with all other ingredients into the crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours

Serve with shredded chedder, sour cream, and tortilla chips!  Leftovers are awesome for lunch the next day 🙂

Chicken Parmesan: My version of a classic dish

Ingredients:
2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (depending on how many people you are going to serve)
Shredded reduced fat mozzarella cheese
Any kind of marinara or spaghetti sauce that your little heart desires (some people are good at homemade, I just go with Bertolli)
fresh basil
oregano
shaved Parmesan cheese
Angel hair pasta (or regular spaghetti will do)
2-4 eggs (depending on how much chicken you’re making)
1 cup of flour
1 and 1/2 cups flour
Italian Bread crumbs
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
Directions:
-mix eggs together in a small bowl
-sprinkle salt & pepper over each chicken breast, then spread a little bit of flour over each side of the chicken
-dip each chicken breast in egg mixture, and then roll it in a plate of the breadcrumbs
-saute chicken in a pan with olive oil
-once the breadcrumbs have turned a golden brown, move the chicken into a greased baking dish
-put a little bit of mozzarella on top of each chicken breast, and then top the chicken with marinara/pasta  sauce, more mozzarella cheese, shaved Parmesan, oregano and fresh basil
-bake in the oven at 350 for 25-35 minutes

Serve over angel hair pasta or spaghetti with sauce and enjoy!

Roasted Sausage, Peppers and Sweet Potatoes (My favorite): This one was posted on a friend’s blog.  It was so flavorful, I LOVED the taste combo of the turkey sausage and sweet potatoes, yum!

Skinny Pizza Pasta Casserole If I could eat this all the time and be skinny, I would be a happy gal 🙂

One thought on “Mouth Watering Meals

Leave a Reply

