40 Week (and final) Pregnancy Update

Well here we are friends and blog readers.  3 days past baby’s due date.  I thought my 39 week pregnancy update would be the last to report on, but other divine plans were apparently in store!  At this point I have tried every single natural method of inducing labor to no avail, including what I called my “last resort” method which did not induce labor, but did induce laughter as it was a pretty humorous experience!  I will spare my blog readers the unnecessary details but if any ladies out there are curious- I’d be happy to tell you about it sometime…  said method has worked for others I know, but as a friend said to me last night, baby Maroon is just being a girl and making everyone wait on her while she gets ready 🙂

I can honestly say though at this point,  I completely surrender to the fact that it is simply not time for baby to come and I’m OK with that.  Earlier this week I was literally going insane.  Never in my life have I had such an incredibly HUGE event coming up with so many unknowns!  It is hard not knowing when I will go into labor, how I will go into labor, if I will know I’m in in labor, how long it will last, what my experience will be, if it will come naturally, if I’ll be induced, etc etc and the list goes on.  I’ve had bad insomnia as these things run through my head constantly…

Sidenote:  I think it would be a wonderful idea to completely chuck the whole “due date” thing, and instead give patients a “due week.”  That way as a pregnant lady, you don’t get attached to a specific day and feel late or like something is wrong when you pass that date.  If my due week was, lets say October 29-November 5, then I still wouldn’t be late at this point and everyone else may around me might have an easier time waiting as well :).  I know that the “due date” is a helpful estimate to go by for certain things, but come on, help a sister out.  Oh and while I’m at it, advice to all doctors out there: Do not tell a pregnant lady that you think she is going to be early.  Seriously, how is that helpful in any way?  One of my doctors told me 3 weeks ago that she thought for sure I would be early, so i was convinced in my mind that although many women are late in their first pregnancy, that was certainly not going to be the case for me.  I thought for sure  all those Braxton hicks and all that pelvic pain were happy signs of an early arrival. Not helpful.  So although I am only 3 days late, I have been feeling as though I am about a week late, since I thought baby would be here before October 30th and that has made it a lot more difficult.

Anyway, maybe it’s my wonderful husband who has declared this “Date Week,” taking it upon himself to plan a date for us every night until baby arrives so I will have something to look forward to each day (I’ve got a good one); maybe it’s the fact that we are scheduled to be induced on Sunday (the 6th) at 8pm if she hasn’t come before then; maybe it’s all of the above, but I feel the closeness of her arrival and am finally fine if I have to wait a few more days. I got over my wall, and I may even be doing better than some of our other family members who are eagerly awaiting news of the arrival of their granddaughter/niece, keeping their phone by their side constantly :).  One blessing of the waiting is that I feel very ready to do this, and a lot more open to whatever my experience may be.  I used to say that I absolutely did not want to have to be induced.  While that is still not my preference, if it does happen, it is OK.  No one goes into a birthing experience wanting to be induced, but sometimes that is just the best option.  At the end of the day, all that matters is that there is a healthy baby and healthy mom, and I believe that now more than ever.  Meds, no meds, induction, c-section… whatever needs to happen to bring our daughter healthily into this world is alright by me.  Whatever happens, it will be our birth story and our birth story will be a beautiful one because it will be how our daughter comes into our life.

To wrap it up, I figured I’d go all “November” on you and list some things that I am thankful for in this whole thing:

  • I am thankful that we got pregnant with Little Miss Late, although it she was unexpected
  • I am thankful that she is full term and I hear weekly that she has a strong heartbeat
  • I am thankful that she is past her due date rather than premature
  • I am thankful that by this time next week, I will be holding her in my arms!
  • I am thankful for my husband who has been the most incredible support throughout this whole pregnancy and has cared for me so wonderfully.  I admire him like crazy, and he is going to be an awesome father.
  • I am thankful that by this time next week, I will no longer be pregnant and will be able to do crazy things like walk across the room, bend down, or roll over at night
  • I am thankful for the extra time I have had this past week to see a few friends and go on dates with Jordan
  • I am thankful for all of the wonderful people that God has surrounded me with who have been such a wonderful support system and have encouraged me constantly

Funny story to leave you with: today Jordan bent down to pick up something I had dropped on the floor and when he stood up, he bumped his head on my baby bump.  More like a baby mountain at this point! 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lauren Thomas says:

    Great post, Krystal! You’re on the home stretch! I know exactly how you’re feeling…I was told I’d be a week or two early, so I felt like I had waited an eternity before I was induced…TWO weeks after my due date! 😉 Like you, I did not want to be induced, but it was not bad and I was still able to labor without additional meds. Jack was worth the wait!! 🙂 I’m glad you’ve been able to let go of some of the expectations and just enjoy these last few days as a couple. I’m praying for you! You’re going to be great – in labor and as a mother. xo

  2. hang in there! praying for baby’s arrival before Sunday!!!! also, yes, you have a wonderful husband– praise God! your marriage will blossom even more when you see each other’s reflection in the look, expressions, mannerisms and antics of your baby girl. what an indescribable gift….. love you guys!!!

  3. M Jones says:

    Amen…way to look for God’s blessings!

  4. Mom says:

    HaHaHa! I love the story of Jordan bumping his head on his daughter, LOL! That’s good…

Leave a Reply

