35 (and a half) week Pregnancy Update

Tomorrow is exactly 1 month away from our due date, I cannot believe it!  It is so close…  Jordan and I both feel ready and not ready at the same time.  We are so ready to meet our baby girl and finally hold her in our arms (and I’m pretty sure we’re both ready for me to not be pregnant anymore), but we also don’t feel entirely ready for all the ways that our lives are about to change! I mean, it’s really happening…  and these next 4ish weeks, we won’t get back for the next 18-20+ years!  That reality has really been sinking into my head over this past week.  This is the last time in a long time that my schedule will be my own, and my days can revolve around myself or Jordan.  I’m about to take on a 24/hr service job, and it’s not going to be easy!  But I know that as soon as I see her little face looking up at me, I will melt completely and every lost morning of sleeping in, less frequent coffee or lunch dates with friends, and the end of flexible finances will be worth it.

As I’ve been doing things like popping tylenol and administering icy hot patches for hip, knee and back pain, twisting and turning at night unable to sleep running through endless lists in my head of everything I want to get done before her arrival, and washing all the baby clothes or starting to pack for the hospital, I have found myself feeling less social and more contemplative.  I love to just sit in the nursery glider with my hands on my stomach feeling Wiggleworm move around and just breathe with a smile on my face as I think about how wonderfully surreal it will be to have her there with me soon.  “Nesting” they call it.  That is definitely the phase I’m in and I am starting to try to scale down my schedule (I’ve somehow been busy the past couple of weeks) so that I can just be in this place and enjoy it.  I want to soak up any possible rest, me time, and quality time with my husband that I can in these last few weeks.

As a lover of fashion (or baby girl clothes!), something else I have spent a lot of time thinking about over these past few weeks is what outfit we will bring Wiggleworm home from the hospital in :).  I’ve narrowed it down to 2 options.  One Halloween themed for if she is born on or before her due date (October 30th), or one super cute Target temptation I couldn’t resist for if she is born after her due date.

Halloween outfit
Mommy's lil' pumpkin 🙂
if she's born after Oct. 31

Finally, I will leave you all with another new development I’ve been experiencing lately: what people refer to as “Baby Brain.” I’ve learned it is not a myth!  I will find myself going upstairs to get something, only to reach the top (out of breath) to realize I have completely forgotten what in the heck I went up there for.  Or the other day I went grocery shopping and bought multiples of certain items because I had coupons that I had to buy more than 1 item to use, only to get home and realize that I forgot to use any of my coupons and then had 5 boxes of cereal, 3 boxes of who knows what, etc. and no money saved to show for it.  I wanted to kick myself.  But these instances are nothing compared to the “Baby Brain” moment of the century I had this week: on Tuesday afternoon, I walked out the door and headed to my car feeling like I was forgetting something.  Before I got to my car I thought, “Oh duh! I forgot my book!”  So I went back into the apartment to grab my book, looked in the mirror, and realized in horror that my book was not the only thing I had forgotten… I wasn’t wearing any pants!  Yes you read that right, I had forgotten to put pants on!  So I had walked out to my car in nothing but a shirt with my purse and keys while several neighbors stood around greeting their kids who had just run home from the bus stop.  Not to mention, they definitely saw me come back out the 2nd time with pants on so I’m sure they had a nice laugh to themselves for the rest of the day!
Lord help me…

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katherine says:

    Lots of people use lol, but half the time they really don’t. I totally did at your no pants story!

  2. Mom says:

    4 more weeks and she can come stay with grammy 🙂 just make sure you put her pants on, LOL! I love the pink outfit – so cute!

Leave a Reply

