Ice cream anyone?

One question I’ve been asked a lot lately is if I have been having any pregnancy cravings.  I used to think that perhaps cravings were just a myth that pregnant women started so that they could justify eating anything they want.  But it is not a myth my friends!  At any point of a given day I might be struck by the idea of a certain food and my desire for it eventually takes over my brain until I have it!  And sometimes, the food is really random.  Here are some of the cravings I’ve had:

1st Trimester:

  • Pizza
  • bagels
  • nachos
  • pickles (one night I sat and ate 4 big dill pickles in a row)
  • jello (who eats jello?)
  • homemade peanut butter milkshake (it specifically had to be homemade)
  • hot fudge sundae’s from McDonalds
  • Ice cream sundae with peanut butter sauce & whipped cream- which I made for myself and ate as my dinner one night (shh don’t tell my dr.  Thank God for pre-natal vitamins!)
  • McDonalds cheeseburgers (I guess grease sounded appetizing?)
  • apples (which I never really liked much before getting pregnant. But it specifically has to be “Pink Lady” apples)

2nd Trimester (so far):

  • Oranges
  • water with lemon
  • diet dr. pepper
  • mango & coconut frozen yogurt from YoPop
  • peanut butter shiver from TCBY
  • mint chocolate chip ice cream

So basically, I just need to move closer to a dairy farm as it seems ice cream is my #1 choice food item.

Also, my taste buds have changed a bit.  Coffee sounds disgusting to me (I used to be the biggest addict), and so does wine (which I usually love)- so that is helpful during this 9 month span!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    I craved a ton of pickles with my first pregnancy and that was you. They had to be the big juicy dill pickles, LOL I did believe the myth, “I can eat anything cause I am eating for two”, and gained a ton of weight! I learned for my 2nd baby that it was not true. Glad you learned it earlier then me! You look awesome so enjoy being pregnant. Can’t wait to see that little grandbaby of ours!!!!

Leave a Reply

